www.supertalent.com The Official Super Talent Support Forum

Login
FAQ MembersRegister

MP tool fails

All firmware upgrade issues should go here

MP tool fails

Postby nwcomputer » Wed May 08, 2013 12:18 am

Hi James,
I was using a 256GB STT SSD in my Mac Pro. It started generating many errors in Disk Utility, then finally died (became unrecognizable by the OS).

Channing suggested I use MP Tool to update the firmware (I see that it has the older firmware which has recognized errors).

I'm trying to use MP Tool on my PC (not my mac), but it won't recognize the SSD.
Here is my system info, and a description of what I did:
Win xp pro ver 2002 service pack 3
Intel core 2 quad CPU
Q8200 @ 2.33 GHz
I put the SSD in an external drive enclosure and connected it to my PC via 6 pin firewire 400 cable.
The model is FTM56GX25H and the serial is
P663314-MJBY-C03A013
Channing said "Your SSD Flash selection is MT29F128G08CJABA 256GB"

I tried running MP Tool according to the instructions in the PDF. It didn't see the drive.
Then I moved the external switch back to the user position.
I formatted the SSD as NTFS using the Windows system tools.

I moved the external switch to the Factory position and I'm trying to run MP TOOL.
I turn on the PC, wait for it to boot up (although I have also tried connecting the drive first, then starting the computer)
Connect drive.
Run MP Tool.
Change Type to 2142
Type Part Number STT_FTM56GX25H
Type Serial Number P663314-MJBY-C03A013
Click the Flash tab
Select Device Type MT29F128G08CJABA 256GB
Click Refresh Button

Nothing happens. My SSD does not show up.
I tried disconnecting/reconnecting SSD.

Please advise.
nwcomputer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:12 pm

Postby SSD-James » Wed May 08, 2013 9:24 am

MP TOOL at facotry mode will not work with external disk with FireWire 400 connector.
It will work with the mother board SATA 2 connector.
What is the MOBO name?
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby nwcomputer » Wed May 08, 2013 12:48 pm

That's too bad.
Would it work in my Voyager Q dock connected via firewire? ==> No.
Would it work in an external enclosure connected via USB 2? ==> No.

Here is my MOBO info:
Intel DP43TF AAE34878-404

Let me know if you need more info.

Thanks.
nwcomputer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:12 pm

Postby SSD-James » Wed May 08, 2013 2:38 pm

Per Intel Specsheet: http://www.intel.com/support/motherboar ... 029161.htm
There are 6 SATA ports.
South Bridge is ICH10
BIOS - Set as AHCI mode
1st port should be connected to OS disk. (Windows XP)
2nd port should be connected to Your SSD (later)

Boot your Intel MOBO with OS disk.
Install the MP TOOL which you can download from here: (the first file)
viewtopic.php?f=74&t=10867

Run it with Admin priviledge.
When the main screen is on, connect your SSD to the 2nd port.
At that time, you should set the switch as factory mode.
Wait for 5 to 10 seconds and click refresh/scan button.
Make sure you PC detected the SSD.
Type in the information of SSD name, serial number,... as was instructed on the guide.
Run it.
Wait for the end and disconnect the SSD.
Now you are ready to use the SSD. Make sure you reset the switch as USER mode.
If you have any problem, let me know.
Your SSD might be weared out. (or worn out becuase you used too much with old FW)
Just let me know.

Thanks,
James
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby nwcomputer » Wed May 08, 2013 4:49 pm

How do I set the BIOS as AHCI mode?

Thanks
nwcomputer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:12 pm

Postby SSD-James » Thu May 09, 2013 9:39 am

Click here again to download the 1st file.
http://www.intel.com/support/motherboar ... 029161.htm

Or, Click here: http://downloadmirror.intel.com/15994/e ... odSpec.pdf

Page 59, you see the instruction on how to enter into the BIOS setting.
Press F2 during the boot.
Please read the pdf file after you downloaded the pdf file.
But if you do not know PC well, you do not need to change it.
Don't change the BIOS.
To use your computer most efficiently, you must use AHCI mode and updated BIOS.
Please read the PDF file you downloaded.
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby nwcomputer » Fri May 10, 2013 3:01 pm

OK, the firmware update seemed to work.
However, now my Mac can't format the drive.
I get the error "DISK ERASE FAILED WITH THE ERROR
WIPING VOLUME DATA TO PREVENT FUTURE ACCIDENTAL PROBING FAILED"

Have you heard of this error before?

Thanks
nwcomputer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:12 pm

Postby SSD-James » Fri May 10, 2013 3:12 pm

It seems so strange.
Did you set the switch back to USER mode after the MP TOOL running?

It looks like you used Updated iso file. No the MP TOOL file.


Another interesting site: Please refer to this site.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1223992
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby nwcomputer » Fri May 10, 2013 4:32 pm

I set the switch back to user mode after running MP TOOL.

I used MP TOOL as instructed (not the iso file).

Thanks for the link.
I tried several of the terminal based solutions, but they generate the same error.

I also put the SSD back in the PC, partitioned it, and formatted it NTFS.
The PC seemed to think it was fine.

Then I reconnected it to my mac via the Voyager Q dock, but I got the same errors when trying to reformat it as a mac disk.
nwcomputer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:12 pm

Postby SSD-James » Fri May 10, 2013 4:48 pm

It seems strange.
Format it as GUID.
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Next

Return to Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest