www.supertalent.com The Official Super Talent Support Forum

Login
FAQ MembersRegister

FTM64GX25H MP Tool fails

All firmware upgrade issues should go here

FTM64GX25H MP Tool fails

Postby Joe-K7 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:06 am

Hi,

my Super Talent SSD FTM64GX25H was not able to boot since last Sunday, hence I crawled throught several forums and all gave me the hint to update the Firmware with MP Tool to latest level of firmware in factory mode (it was mounted as "Yatapdong Barefoot-ROM"). I've tried this yesterday, but got the following error messages

SATA: PASS
Module: PASS
Flash: FAIL
Status: ERROR
Firmware: 2142

The S/N is P590946-ATBX-9259130, I've tried update with FW 2142, Flash with Auto Detection, Win 7 64Bit, no Internet connection, mainboard Gigabyte MA770T (AMD 770/710), 4GB RAM, connected to SATA #2 Master (#0 both empty, #1 Master HDD, #1 Slave BlueRay, #2 Slave & #3 both empty).

Could you pls. suggest how to proceed as the MP Tool stucks :cry:

Is the SSD potentially completely "dead" or any suggestion to resurrect it ?

Thanks and kind regards,
Joe
Joe-K7
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:58 pm

Postby SSD-James » Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:49 am

Please select the Flash selection manually.
your Flash selection is TH58NVG5D1DTG20 64GB.
If it is not working, please let me know.
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby Joe-K7 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:22 pm

Hi,

Tried the above mentioned Flash setting but got the same error message.

Have you got another hint what to do?

Btw. thanks for quick reply,
Joe
Joe-K7
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:58 pm

Postby SSD-James » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:41 pm

At what step, did you find the error message?
Can you make a screenshot for me?

Your GA mother board has AMD chipset. It means you need to follow the step for AMD/NVIDIA chipset case.
viewtopic.php?f=74&t=10867
Did you follow the step?

Thanks,
James
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby Joe-K7 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:58 pm

Hello James,

Yes, I've read the section of AMD/NVIDIA chipsets and extracted, the main point is (from my view) to run it under IDE mode, which I've checked, and I had already "Native IDE" set in BIOS.

I've taken some pictures with my mobile, which are not very good (especially the one of the DOS box)

Super Talent SSD Serial Number:
Image

DOS-Box (pls. excuse the bad quality):
Image

MP Tool after ending (initial try, used Auto Detection, same result with dedicated FLASH):
Image


Some explanaitions to the DOS box:
1. SDRAM check
2. block list of low/high with hex numbers (block 0-15)
3. block list of block 0-15
4. Statement "scanning initial bad blocks"

The DOS box closes after about 20-30 seconds showing the last entry and I cannot see any further output (I don't know, whether there is one as the windows closes too fast). After this I see the MP Tool as the last picture shows.

I hope this helps to prepare next steps (if there are any).

Thanks again for your help,
Joe
Joe-K7
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:58 pm

Postby SSD-James » Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:13 am

Please doubleclick the FAIL on the screenshot and let's see what you will see.
Give me that screenshot please.

In addtion, it looks like you have selected the wrong flash type.
You have selected JS29F......
I asked you to select TH58......

Thanks,
James
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby Joe-K7 » Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:22 am

Hi,

The screenshot was from the first run with "Auto Detection". Attached you'll see the FAIL details

Image

Does this help to understand the error ?

Thanks and kind regards,
Joe

I've just tried it again and I could hardly see an yellow "ERROR" statement in the DOS window just before it closes, but could not read what appeared in the next line...
Any help is appreciated.
Joe-K7
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:58 pm

Postby SSD-James » Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:48 pm

OK. Please run the following program before you run the MP TOOL.
Please read the post about how to use it.

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=11390&p=25660#p25660
Your file is 6th one. Please download it and run it per the direction on the post.

If the above method does not work, you need to return your SSD to us.

Thanks,
James
SSD-James
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Postby Joe-K7 » Fri Jun 29, 2012 2:08 pm

Hello James,

You've done it. The Launderer worked perfect and I've followed descriotion as given. The SSD is now in the system again and I need to extract my back-up to bring it onto the SSD. Hopefully, that is really easy to do.


Does the Launderer "hurt" the flash chips ? What about the life time, is it going to fail soon again or will it last another more than three years ?

Thanks again for your great support. It is really appreciated.

Regards,
Joe
Joe-K7
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:58 pm

Postby Joe-K7 » Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:25 pm

Hi,
After successfully resurrecting the SSD, I need to re-install the system. About 10 month ago I've created a back-up. It was generated with Acronis WD True Image.

Can I use this back-up to re-instate the Old System in the changed SSD? This has some marked bad blocks (Launeder).

Regards,
Joe-K7
Joe-K7
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:58 pm

Next

Return to Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron